Homebound Publications’ 2016 Landmark Prize for Fiction is now open.

At Homebound Publications, we publish books written by independent voices for independent minds. Our titles focus on a return to simplicity and balance connection to the earth and each other, and the search for meaning and authenticity. As an independent publisher we strive to ensure, “That the mainstream is not the only stream.”

We are seeking both fiction with special focus on spirituality, travel, history, personal growth, and ecological. Authors representative of the work we seek would be: Barry Lopez, Joanna Macy, Gary Snyder, David Abram, Mary Oliver, Rainer Maria Rilke, Annie Dillard, David Whyte, Cheryl Strayed, Jack Kerouac, Walt Whitman, and Henry David Thoreau.

Deadline for entries is January 1st, 2017. On February 1, 2017 we will announce one winner from the entries as well as a finalist and honorable mentions, (some or all of which may be offered publication). The winning manuscript will be published by Homebound Publications in late 2017. While there is no cash prize at this time, the winning author will be offered a generous 20% royalty contract and receive 10 free copies of the final book to help further their promotional efforts. The win­ning author/book will also receive a feature spread in Homebound Publication’s biannual journal, The Wayfarer: A Journal of Contemplative Literature. 

The winner and finalist(s) will be published worldwide. Our books are distributed via publisher-direct and Ingrams. We have printing bases in the USA, UK, and Australia, allowing us to dispatch copies around the world when there is demand. The winning book will be released in paperback and ebook (kindle and nook).

Entry Guidelines & Eligibility 

  • To enter, the manuscript must be previously unpublished.
  • There is a $25.00 non-refundable reading fee.
  • All entries will be considered for publication.
  • Only authors who currently reside in the United States of America may enter.
  • Manuscripts must be in English.
  • A limited number of selections from the book may have appeared in print or online but the writer must hold sole rights to the work.
  • Multiple entries by a single author are wel­come but a sep­a­rate entry forms and fees must be paid for each entry.
  • The manuscript must be between 120-200 double-spaced pages in length. (No more than 80,000 words.)
  • The winner will be notified privately of their win by January 10, 2017. The winner will be publicly announced February 1, 2017 and release in late 2017.
  • Employees of Homebound Publications and authors with books previously published by Homebound Publications are not eligible.

Entry by Post Mail

(Editor’s Note: While we are aware of the extra packaging required when sending via post, at this time we prefer entrants to send their submissions to us via USPS. When we complete our review of your materials, all packaging materials and paper is recycled.)

For those of you entering by post mail please include the fol­lowing in your entry:

  •  The full man­u­script
  • A brief bio­graph­ical state­ment
  • Check made payable to: Homebound Publications
  • Self-address stamped post­card (Should you desire con­fir­ma­tion of receipt of your entry.)

Post entries should be send to:

Homebound Publications

Attn: Landmark Prize

PO Box 1442, Pawcatuck, CT 06379 – 1968

United States of America

[Please note:] Manuscripts sub­mitted to the con­test via post mail will not be returned. Please do not send us the orig­inal copy of your man­u­script.

Entering Online

To enter online, you may submit your manuscript and payment via our secure submission platform here: http://homeboundpublications.submittable.com/submit

  • Please send us the full man­u­script
  • Brief biographical statement.
  • You will be able to pay the $25.00 entry fee via Submittable’s platform.